Medea and Other Plays

Medea / Hecabe / Electra / Heracles


The four tragedies collected in this volume all focus on a central character, once powerful, brought down by betrayal, jealousy, guilt, and hatred. The first playwright to depict suffering without reference to the gods, Euripides (484-407 BC) made his characters speak in human terms and face the consequences of their actions. In Medea, a woman rejected by her lover takes hideous revenge by murdering the children they both love, and Hecabe depicts the former queen of Troy, driven mad by the prospect of her daughter's sacrifice to Achilles. Electra portrays a young woman planning to avenge the brutal death of her father at the hands of her mother, while in Heracles the hero seeks vengeance against the evil king who has caused bloodshed in his family.

Philip Vellacott's lucid translation is accompanied by an introduction, which discusses the literary background of Classical Athens and examines the distinction between instinctive and civilized behavior.


In winkelwagentje:

ISBN: 9780140441291
Uitgever: Penguin Books
Datum uitgifte: 1975

Dit artikel werd toegevoegd op Sunday 07 January, 2018.

Uw ipadres is:
Copyright © 2018 Powered by Zen Cart
Parse Time: 0.257 - Number of Queries: 148 - Query Time: 0.07994032258606
Biscayne Consultancy - e-commerce solutions