The Master Builder and Other Plays

The Master Builder / Rosmershols / Little Eyolf / John Gabriel Borkman


The four plays in this volume, written late in Ibsen's career as a dramatist, move away from his earlier preoccupation with people at odds with society to instead explore the inward struggle with their own thoughts, feelings and dreams. The Master Builder (1892) depicts a powerful man whose illusions collapse in the face of a young woman's courageous common sense. In Rosmersholm (1886), an idealist is forced to question his beliefs and confront terrible truths about the past, while Little Eyolf (1894) portrays a man's self-deception, which brings both tragic repercussions for his family and new hope for their future. And in John Gabriel Borkman (1896), a dying woman returns to reclaim the affections and loyalty of her nephew, resulting in a bitter struggle with her sister.


In winkelwagentje:

ISBN: 9780140440539
Uitgever: Penguin Books
Datum uitgifte: 1979

Dit artikel werd toegevoegd op .

Uw ipadres is:
Copyright © 2020 Powered by Zen Cart
Parse Time: 0.377 - Number of Queries: 146 - Query Time: 0.10909807157898
Biscayne Consultancy - e-commerce solutions